Our Secondhand Home

Just another WordPress.com site

Our new TV stand June 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — 2asmom @ 10:38 pm
Tags:

So yesterday I posted the before of my former-1960’s hutch-turned-TV stand. Here’s what she looked like yesterday…

Poor girl. She needed a makeover! Here’s what she looks like today…

This is not the best picture but she is oh so pretty. The green is actually much brighter in person. This looks sort of mint green when its actually more neon green. (It is Glidden New Grass Green.) I’m sure its not for everyone, but I love it! And it was VERY inexpensive. I paid $25 for the vintage hutch-this is the bottom part and I’m going to use the top part for storage in my scrapbook room. You can’t beat 2 pieces of furniture for $25! I used Glidden Onyx Black-it was free from a promotion last year. The green was also free from Glidden (I love you Glidden!). The only thing I actually had to spend money on was $5 for the paint brushes and around $2 for the knobs! I am so happy with how this turned out and I can’t wait to get started on my next project (new-old kitchen table!). I am going to try to post some more details maybe tomorrow when I can get some better photos. I’m also still trying to figure out how I want everything situated. I was just so excited to take a picture that I couldn’t wait any longer! I will be on the lookout for a treasure to replace my owl this weekend when I hit some yard sales, its just not working out there.

Did I mention I love my new stand?? (Her name is Ethel by the way. I said she needed a name, and my Gma suggested Ethel. Perfection. And yes I named a piece of furniture, but only because she’s so pretty.) Special thanks to my grandparents for letting me keep this thing in the garage while I thought, and thought, and thought some more about how I was going to paint it, and for helping me yesterday, and just for being the 2 greatest people in the whole world. Also thanks to my hubby for bringing it home and listening while I went on and on about how to make it just right. And for going out to get dinner because we’re both exhausted now. ;o)

Now I’m going to go play on my new computer for a bit and wait for dinner! Then I guess I’ll have to put all of our movies and TV stuff away before the kids decide to demolish my DVD towers…

Thanks for stopping in!

 

Leave a Reply

