Our Secondhand Home

Just another WordPress.com site

Only 3 days until Christmas! December 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — 2asmom @ 11:32 am
Tags:

This week is flying by! I can’t believe its Wednesday already! Aaron is counting down the days of course. He’ll get up this morning and say “3 more days Mom, 3 more days!”. Yesterday he asked me what I wanted for Christmas and I told him I have everything I could possibly want. He looked at me like I was crazy! We have talked a lot about Jesus and why we celebrate Christmas, but for a 4 year old, its all about the presents!

Alex doesn’t see anything different than any other day of the year. About the only thing he’s noticed is the little jingle bells on the tree because they have little holes that he can stick his finger into. I would LOVE if he could open presents this year. I would cry, but I would love it. I have decided we are only doing one family function a day (Christmas Eve and Day), because anything else is just going to be too much for him. I’ve been reading blogs and articles written by other autism moms, and some have said that because their child is so uncomfortable on Christmas morning, they just let them sleep. I am thinking about this. Just letting Aaron get up and open his Santa gifts, then all of us going to my grandparents. I want to do what’s best for Alex, but it hurts my heart to think of all of the things we won’t be doing. I always thought the boys would both be begging to go see the tree and presents and they would tear into them and be so happy. But Alex is just upset by all of the commotion. Most of the time I have all of these, should I do this, should I do that, wars going on in my head, and honestly I have no idea what to do. One thing is for sure though, this is Alex. All of these little things make Alex who he is, and we wouldn’t have it any other way. He is so sweet and innocent, and the kid could hug me all day. Some day I want to be able to just cuddle him for a whole day. We would both be happy as clams.

I am excited to start my room switch tomorrow. We found a new (free!) desk and everything should be done tomorrow evening and Friday morning. Or so I hope. I really want everything done by Christmas morning, so we can open gifts in our new living room. Fingers crossed!

 

Leave a Reply

