Our Secondhand Home

Just another WordPress.com site

Tiny vent and a new toy January 25, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — 2asmom @ 2:00 pm

I don’t know if other autism parents have this problem, but it is so hard for me to find toys that Alexander likes. And the toys I do find are way out of our price range. I longingly pour over the toys in all of our special needs catalogs, just waiting for the day when we win the lottery and can afford them. Lets be real though, that’s never going to happen! (But really, why do the wall panels that I lust over have to be $1,000 a piece??!! As if parents of special needs kids don’t have enough to deal with, lets make the things that would benefit their children cost way more than they’ll ever be able to afford. Come on, I paid $150 for a swing. Give me a break. Ugh.)

But anyway, when I find something that we can afford that I think Alex will like, I pick it up. Even though I know I’m taking the chance that he will hate it, I figure if I buy 10 toys and he likes one, then that’s money well spent. I can always resell it and get some of my money back, although most of the time Aaron ends up keeping it. I have a hard time paying full price for anything, and while browsing Craigslist for secondhand goods I came across this:

It is so fantastic. It is called the Battat Activity School Bus. It costs about $300. Whoa. I found ours on Craigslist for $50, and when we’re done with it I’m sure I can resell it that much. It has 16 different activities on it, but Alex’s favorite things to do are spin the wheels, and climb on top of it. I’m not sure that last one was included in the 16 activities from the company… It has definitely been a crowd pleaser in this house, and I am so glad we got it. Plus it is perfect in our playroom. I need to get some pictures of the boys playing with it. Definitely money well spent!

 

Leave a Reply

