Our Secondhand Home

Just another WordPress.com site

Our new stools {LOVE!} March 29, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — 2asmom @ 5:47 pm

Two days before Christmas I decided to switch a few rooms around. The dining room-turned-playroom became the living room, and the living room became the playroom. The new playroom is a bit bigger, but it is oddly shaped and just wasn’t working as a living room. Plus, Alex has a few large things-his swing and a trampoline, so this was the smartest choice. I wish I would’ve thought of it earlier!

Anywho, when I switched the rooms around, our table and chairs no longer worked in our living room. There just wasn’t enough room. I loved our table and chairs though. It was a beautiful set from the 50’s. It was just so darned cute. So when I moved the rooms I decided we needed bar stools. Like yesterday. So I listed my table on Craigslist, and began my hunt for some stools. Well, for someone on a tight budget, most bar stools I liked were way out of my range. Even the cheapest ones with backs at Walmart were $50, and I didn’t like them in the least. So I kept looking and I found these fantastic barstools (they are called H2 Hydraulic Barstools) but they were $210 EACH! Since I needed 4, that wasn’t going to happen. So I’ve spent the past 3 months looking and looking and looking. I was starting to get discouraged after noone had even came to look at my table after a month. Then one day I found the stools I wanted on Overstock.com. They were around $87 each. Big difference from $210! Plus I would pay about $30 less for shipping since Overstock ships for $2.95! But I still couldn’t order them until I had the money from my table. Well, the next day I got an email about my table, and a few days after that, she came to buy it. And I was $200 richer. :o) The stools were $356. I had $200. My hubby gave me $100 from our tax refund. So I was still almost $60 short. Last week I ended up with an extra day care kiddo for 3 days. I made $60. It was fate, lol. I was so excited and got online to order my stools. I was checking out when my computer froze. Ugh. While I was waiting on it to start back up I remembered that I could get cash back from Shop at Home. So I checked out through Shop at Home, they had a $10 coupon, which took my total down to $346, and now I’ll be getting a check for around $30. So I ended up getting the stools I wanted, that I would’ve paid $870 for, for about $315!! I’m a happy girl. And after all that rambling here they are!

I love them!! They are bright and funky and totally me. They really made a huge difference in the living room too.

I’ve been working  on this room for a while now, and its slowly coming along! I’ve tried my best to get the best deals I can. We found our couch brand new on Craigslist (it even still had the tags on it!) for $100. I just bought the rug, again from Craigslist, for $25. It costs $300 on Target.com! The TV stand is the bottom part of this fabulous 1960’s hutch that I bought last summer. Again, on Craigslist! I paid $25 for it. I painted it with 2 free paint samples that I had. Score! The top part is being used as storage in my craft room. I just found the chair in the corner at a yard sale last weekend. I paid $10 for it. The wall art was pretty cheap too. To the far left is a beautiful vintage needlepoint that I found at a yard sale for $5. I found a frame at Michaels for $15 (down from $60) that had a few scratches on it. I touched it up with a Sharpie and now you can’t even tell! Jamie bought me the super cute 1970’s gnomes for Christmas on Ebay for about $8. I love those little guys. So cute! I got the shelf at Target for $9. I love the big picture of my sweet boys. I won the 24×36 poster print. I found the frame at Michaels-$15 down from $60, a few scratches, Sharpie, good as new. :o) The birds were a 75% off find at Target that cost under $5.

I still have some things to do in this room. Paint on the walls. New curtains (I’ll be on the lookout for some vintage ones!!). New desk (it’s on the wall that’s not pictured), probably one with a hutch for extra storage. Wall art for that wall. I found a great long shelf for $2 at a yard sale that I will probably use over there. I have a bunch of cute DIY ideas bookmarked that I may use too. I also want to find a small bookshelf with doors to go to the left of the stools. But I do feel like I’ve gotten the bulk of the work done in here, and I’m happy about that! When we first moved in here, I was pregnant and barely got the unpacking done, let alone any decorating. Then Alex came, and our lives were turned upside down. I spent the first 2 years of Alex’s life in a depression I think. For the past 6 months or so I’ve really been working on our house. I basically had to start from scratch so I’m happy with my progress!

 

Leave a Reply

